PRIVILEGES AND PROCEDURES COMMITTEE

(17th Meeting)

13th June 2006

PART A

All members were present, with the exception of Senator S. Syvret, from whom apologies had been received.

Connétable D.F. Gray of St. Clement - Chairman Senator M.E. Vibert Connétable K.A. Le Brun of St. Mary Deputy G.C.L. Baudains Deputy C.H. Egré Deputy J. Gallichan

In attendance -

M.N. de la Haye, Greffier of the States Miss P. Horton, Clerk to the Privileges and Procedures Committee

Note: The Minutes of this meeting comprise Part A and Part B.

States Members' parking. 1240/9/1(115)

A1. The Committee received and considered correspondence dated 1st June 2006, received from Mr. E. Trevor, Chairman, Shopmobility, regarding the use of States Members' parking spaces in Sand Street car park.

The Committee noted that, due to the increase in popularity of Shopmobility during the summer months, more parking spaces were required and Mr. Trevor was requesting permission to use additional States Members' car parking spaces on non-states days. The Committee recalled that it had agreed that it would not become involved in issues surrounding the number and location of States Members' parking spaces as it was considered that this was the responsibility of the Transport and Technical Services Department.

The Committee agreed that the matter should be referred to the Minister for Transport and Technical Services and the Committee Clerk was requested to take the necessary action.

Matter for information.

A2. The Committee noted that a Constitutional Advisory Panel was to be formed and it would be requested to nominate a non-executive Member of the States as a member of the Panel. The Committee agreed that, once it was requested to nominate a member, it would give all non-executive States Members the opportunity to express an interest in being appointed to the Panel. A ballot of non-executive States Members would then be conducted to determine who would be appointed to the Panel.